skip to main content
You are here: CICADA homepage > events >CoSyDy2

Complex Systems Dynamics

A London Mathematical Society Scheme 3 network CoSyDy to bring together UK mathematicians investigating Complex Systems Dynamics. This is the second year that funding has been awarded by the LMS to run this series of meetings.

Further information can be found at the Warwick Mathematics Institute website:
Coordinator: Robert MacKay (Warwick).
Seconders: Henrik Jensen (Imperial), David Broomhead (Manchester).
Chair: Mauro Mobilia (Leeds).
Principal nodes: Warwick, Imperial, Manchester, Leeds, Bath, Queen Mary.

Schedule of Events for 2010/2011

Previous Meetings

A Valentine's Day Meeting on Networks and Society, The University of Manchester - Monday 14 February 2011

This meeting will be held in the Frank Adams rooms in the Alan Turing Building. Directions to the Alan Turing Building can be found here.


Please let Helen Harper ( if you intend coming to the meeting before Thursday 10 February 2011 so appropriate catering arrangements can be made.

In addition, please inform Helen Harper of any special dietary or other requirements (such as mobility issues) that you have so that these can be taken into account.

Financial Support

There is some financial support available for travel for members of the Network nodes. Postgraduate students will have priority, then the most deserving cases will be considered. If you wish to apply, please contact Helen Harper (Helen.Harper at


Dr Tim Rogers (University of Manchester) Schelling's model of segregation

Mr Robert Goudie (University of Warwick) Graphical models for social networks

Mr Franck Kalala-Mutombo (University of Strathclyde) Long-Range Contacts in Social Networks. The Case of Epidemic Spreading

Mr Anthony Woolcock (University of Warwick) Linked and Weighted Opinions: Extensions to the Axelrod Model

Ms Karin Mora (University of Bath) Dynamics of maps with gaps

Prof Mark Peletier (University of Eindhoven, visiting University of Bath) Variational analysis of a striped-pattern model


The latest programme is available here.


List of Participants

Rafael Alcaraz Barrera (University of Manchester)

Daniela D'Andreta (University of Manchester)

Dan Barker (University of Warwick)

Martine Barons (University of Warwick)

Erasmo Batta (University of Warwick)

Vicent Botella-Soler (University of Valencia)

John Brooke (University of Manchester)

Chris Budd (University of Bath)

Younes Chahlaoui (University of Manchester)

Wenjie Cui (Manchester Metropolitan University)

Paul Glendinning (University of Manchester)

Robert Goudie (University of Warwick)

Stefan Grosskinsky (University of Warwick)

James Hook (University of Manchester)

Franck Kalala-Mutombo (University of Strathclyde)

Laurence Lessard-Phillips (University of Manchester)

Nick McCullen (University of Leeds)

Karin Mora (University of Bath)

Mark Muldoon (University of Manchester)

Peter Neal (University of Manchester)

Kathryn Oliver (University of Manchester)

Ebrahim Patel (University of Manchester)

Mark Peletier (University of Eindhoven)

Tim Rogers (University of Manchester)

Jon Shapiro (University of Manchester)

Qusay Soad Al-Zamil (University of Manchester)

Bartosz Szczesny (University of Leeds)

Barbora Trubenova (University of Manchester)

Alistair Tucker (University of Warwick)

Colin Tucker

Chigozie Utazi (University of Manchester)

Yujiang Wang (University of Manchester)

Chris Welshman (University of Manchester)

Paul Widdop (University of Manchester)

Anthony Woolcock (University of Warwick)

Last modified: February 24, 2011 5:03:48 PM GMT.